• Who We Are

  • President's Council

    Peter Agre

    Nobel Laureate
    University Professor and Director, Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute
    Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, Bloomberg School of Public Health

    Richard Axel

    Nobel Laureate
    University Professor, Columbia University
    Investigator, HHMI

    David Baltimore

    Nobel Laureate
    Former President, Caltech

    Etienne-Emile Baulieu

    Former President, French Academy of Sciences

    Paul Berg

    Nobel Laureate
    Professor Emeritus, Department of Biochemistry, Stanford University

    Len Blavatnik

    Chairman, Access Industries

    Günter Blobel

    Nobel Laureate
    Director, Laboratory for Cell Biology, Rockefeller University

    Irina Bokova

    Director General, United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

    Sydney Brenner

    Nobel Laureate
    Distinguished Professor, Salk Institute

    Michael S. Brown

    Nobel Laureate
    Professor of Molecular Genetics, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

    Linda Buck

    Nobel Laureate
    Investigator, HHMI
    Member of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

    Karen E. Burke

    Dermatologist and Research Scientist
    Honorary Life Governor, The New York Academy of Sciences

    Thomas R. Cech

    Nobel Laureate
    Distinguished Professor, University of Colorado Boulder

    Martin Chalfie

    Nobel Laureate
    University Professor of Biological Sciences, Columbia University

    Aaron J. Ciechanover

    Nobel Laureate
    Distinguished Research Professor, Tumor and Vascular Biology Research Center, Faculty of Medicine, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, Israel

    Kenneth L. Davis

    President and CEO of the Mount Sinai Health System in New York City

    Peter Doherty

    Nobel Laureate
    Researcher, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital (Memphis, TN)
    Researcher, the Department of Microbiology and Immunology, University of Melbourne

    Mikael Dolsten

    President, Worldwide Research and Development; Senior Vice-President, Pfizer Inc.

    Jan Eliasson

    Former Deputy Secretary-General to the United Nations

    Edmond H. Fischer

    Nobel Laureate
    Professor Emeritus, Department of Biochemistry, University of Washington

    Jerome I. Friedman

    Nobel Laureate
    Institute Professor & Professor of Physics, Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

    Joseph Goldstein

    Nobel Laureate
    Chairman, Molecular Genetics, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

    S. Kris Gopalakrishnan

    Chairman, Axilor Ventures / Co-founder Infosys

    Paul Greengard

    Nobel Laureate
    Professor of Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience, Rockefeller University

    Glenda Greenwald

    President, Aspen Brain Forum Foundation

    William A. Haseltine

    President, The Haseltine Foundation for Medical Sciences and the Arts
    Chairman, Haseltine Global Health, LLC

    Hon. Jerry MacArthur Hultin

    Senior Presidential Fellow, New York University
    President Emeritus, Polytechnic Institute of NYU
    Former Under Secretary of the Navy

    Eric Kandel

    Nobel Laureate
    Professor, Physiology and Cell Biology, Columbia University

    Kiyoshi Kurokawa

    Former Science Advisor to the Prime Minister of Japan
    Professor, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies (GRIPS)

    Leon Lederman

    Nobel Laureate
    Pritzker Professor of Science, Illinois Institute of Technology
    Resident Scholar, Illinois Math and Science Academy

    Gregory Lucier

    Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer

    Roderick MacKinnon

    Nobel Laureate
    John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Professor, Rockefeller University
    Investigator, HHMI

    Richard Menschel

    Senior Director, Goldman Sachs

    Ronay Menschel

    Chairman of the Board, Phipps Houses
    Board of Overseers, Weill Cornell Medical College

    Ferid Murad

    Nobel Laureate
    Director, IMM Center for Cell Signaling, The University of Texas at Houston

    John F. Niblack

    Former President, Pfizer Global Research & Development
    Honorary Life Governor, The New York Academy of Sciences

    Paul Nurse

    Nobel Laureate
    Former President, The Rockefeller University
    Former President, The Royal Society, London
    Chief Executive, The Francis Crick Institute

    Yoshinori Ohsumi

    Nobel Laureate
    Professor, Institute of Innovative Research, Tokyo Institute of Technology (IIR)

    Venkatraman Ramakrishnan

    Nobel Laureate
    President, the Royal Society

    Richard Roberts

    Nobel Laureate
    Chief Scientific Officer, New England Biolabs

    James E. Rothman

    Nobel Laureate
    Yale University School of Medicine, Fergus F. Wallace Professor of Cell Biology and Professor of Chemistry
    Chairman, Department of Cell Biology
    Director, Nanobiology Institute

    Jeffrey D. Sachs

    Special Advisor to the UN Secretary General on the Sustainable Development Goals
    Director of Center for Sustainable Development, Columbia University

    Bengt Samuelsson

    Nobel Laureate
    Professor, Medical and Physiological Chemistry, Karolinska Institute
    Former Chairman, The Nobel Foundation

    Ismail Serageldin

    Director, Bibliotheca Alexandrina, The Library of Alexandria, Egypt

    Phillip A. Sharp

    Nobel Laureate
    Director, The McGovern Institute, MIT Center for Cancer Research

    Feike Sijbesma

    CEO/Chairman of the Managing Board, Royal DSM

    Michael Sohlman

    Former Executive Director, The Nobel Foundation

    Paul Stoffels

    Chief Scientific Officer, Johnson & Johnson
    Member of the Johnson & Johnson Executive Committee and Management Committee
    Worldwide Co-Chairman, Pharmaceuticals Group

    Jack W. Szostak

    Nobel Laureate
    Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    Professor of Genetics, Harvard Medical School
    Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Harvard University
    Alex A. Rich Distinguished Investigator, Department of Molecular Biology, Massachusetts General Hospital

    Diana Taylor

    Vice-Chair, Solera Capital LLC

    Marc Tessier-Lavigne

    President, Stanford University

    Craig B. Thompson

    President and CEO, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

    Shirley Tilghman

    President Emerita/Professor of Molecular Biology, Princeton University

    Frank Walsh

    Chief Executive Officer, Ossianix, Inc.

    George Whitesides

    Woodford L. & Ann A. Flowers University Professor, Harvard University

    Torsten N. Wiesel

    Nobel Laureate
    Chairman Emeritus, The New York Academy of Sciences
    Former Secretary General, Human Frontier Science Program Organization
    President Emeritus, Rockefeller University

    Frank Wilczek

    Nobel Laureate
    The Herman Feshbach Professor of Physics, MIT

    Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker

    Secretary General, Human Frontier Science Program
    Former Secretary General, European Research Council
    Former President, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, Germany

    Andrew Witty

    Former Chief Executive Officer, GlaxoSmithKline

    Tan Sri Zakri Abdul Hamid

    Science Adviser to the Prime Minister of Malaysia

    Elias Zerhouni

    President, Global Research & Development, Sanofi-aventis

    Guangzhao Zhou

    Former Chairman, Chinese Association for Science and Technology