• Innovation in Industry Awards

  • The New York Academy of Sciences is proud to announce the winners of the 2008 Innovation in Industry Awards. These new awards celebrate the excellence of our most innovative young scientists and engineers in industry, and recognize the great contributions that young scientists in industry make to research, development, and innovation.

    Four applicants were selected as finalists, encompassing two team entries and two individuals. Finalists were chosen from an outstanding pool of candidates submitted by major corporations and organizations nationally, spanning all areas of research and development. The finalists have done exceptional work in the fields of drug delivery, imaging and diagnostics, microchips and computing, and drug discovery. Learn more about the winners.

    The Academy is excited to honor young scientists in industry who have made significant contributions to scientific innovation, research, and development.

    Nominations for the 2009 Innovation in Industry Awards will begin in the spring. For more information, or to be notified when the selection process begins, please contact us.

    2008 Winners

    Drs. John Mikszta and Vince Sullivan

    Becton Dickinson
    for the development of microneedle and inhalable vaccine delivery technology for influenza and anthrax.

    Dr. Menelas Pangalos

    for the development of novel, innovative strategies for developing viable therapeutic agents for neurological disorders.

    2008 Finalists

    Dr. Hendrik F. Haman

    for innovations in measuring real-time temperature and power distributions in operational microprocessors and large data centers.

    Drs. Jochen Kruecker, Sheng Xu, and Pingkun Yan

    Philips Research North America
    for breakthrough technologies to overcome image guidance limitations for prostate cancer diagnosis and therapy.