In an effort to support global initiatives to contain the spread of the new coronavirus (COVID-19), the Academy is presenting Spring 2020 events through online platforms and some of our previously scheduled events are being postponed to a later date. Please check our events listing for the latest information and contact our Customer Service team with any additional questions. For Academy programs and resources about COVID-19, click here.

We are experiencing intermittent technical difficulties. At this time, you may not be able to log in, register for an event, or make a donation via the website. We appreciate your patience, and apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

This site uses cookies.
Learn more.


This website uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the website to operate while others offer you a better browsing experience. You give us your permission to use cookies, by continuing to use our website after you have received the cookie notification. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to change your cookie settings, see our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.


Special Issue: Antimicrobial Therapeutics Reviews

Edited by

Gerard D. Wright (McMaster University)

Special Issue: Antimicrobial Therapeutics Reviews

Published: January 2020

Volume 1459

Published since 1824, Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences is the Academy’s premier scientific publication.

Learn More


Permeability barriers of Gram‐negative pathogens

Helen I. Zgurskaya, Valentin V. Rybenkov


Structure and function of lipid A–modifying enzymes

Anandhi Anandan, Alice Vrielink


AcrB: a mean, keen, drug efflux machine

Jessica Kobylka, Miriam S. Kuth, Reinke T. Müller, Eric R. Geertsma, Klaas M. Pos


Creative targeting of the Gram‐negative outer membrane in antibiotic discovery

Craig R. MacNair, Caressa N. Tsai, Eric D. Brown


Synthesis and structure−activity relationships of teixobactin

John A. Karas, Fan Chen, Elena K. Schneider‐Futschik, Zhisen Kang, Maytham Hussein, James Swarbrick, Daniel Hoyer, Andrew M. Giltrap, Richard J. Payne, Jian Li, Tony Velkov