This site uses cookies.
Learn more.


This website uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the website to operate while others offer you a better browsing experience. You give us your permission to use cookies, by continuing to use our website after you have received the cookie notification. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to change your cookie settings, see our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

2017 Board of Governors Election

June 2017

Dear Academy Members:

On behalf of the Board of Governors of the New York Academy of Sciences, I am pleased to invite you to the Annual Member Meeting to be held Thursday, September 28, 2017, at 6:15 pm. Please join us to learn more about your Academy, and to meet and mingle with fellow Academy Members at the New Member Welcome Reception. To register for this free, Members-only event, visit the Annual Meeting event page.

As a Member of the World’s Smartest Network®, you also have the opportunity to elect the people who guide the management of the New York Academy of Sciences: our Board of Governors. The quality and balance of the Academy’s Board significantly impact our ability to drive positive change through collective action in science and technology. So please take a few moments to exercise your voting privilege by casting your vote for returning officers and Governors.

A list of all candidates recommended by the Board of Governors by its Governance Committee with links to their bios can be found below. You can cast your vote in the 2017 Official Election Ballot here.

Ballots must be completed no later than September 1, 2017.

Thank you for your Membership and support to The New York Academy of Sciences.


Paul M. Horn
Chair, Board of Governors


Paul HornChair
(for one-year term)

Paul WalkerVice-Chair
(for one-year term)

Donna Milrod Treasurer
(for three-year term)


Mikael DolstenGovernor
(3rd and final term Sept. 2017 through Sept. 2020)

Elaine FuchsGovernor
(3rd and final term Sept. 2017 through Sept. 2020)

Gregory PetskoGovernor
(2nd term Sept. 2017 through Sept. 2020)

Kathe SacklerGovernor
(3rd and final term Sept. 2017 through Sept. 2020)

Mortimer D. A. SacklerGovernor
(3rd and final term Sept. 2017 through Sept. 2020)


Term: 9/2017-9/2020 (3-year term)

Seema Kumar

Thomas Pompidou

Peter Thorén

William Wachtel

Grace Wang

You can view our current Board of Governors here.


Current Governors as candidates:
Paul Horn, Mikael Dolsten, Elaine Fuchs, Gregory Petsko, Kathe Sackler, Mortimer D.A. Sackler, Paul Walker

New candidates for Governor: Seema Kumar, Thomas Pompidou, Peter Thorén, Grace Wang

Appointed Governors: Donna Milrod, William Wachtel

Seated Officers:
Ellis Rubinstein, President (ex-officio)
Larry Smith, Secretary (ex-officio)

Seated Governors (not candidates):
Jacqueline Corbelli, MaryEllen Elia, Beth Jacobs, John Kelly III, Mehmood Khan, Pablo Legorreta, David Mordecai, Michael Zigman, Nancy Zimpher

Seated International Board Members (not candidates):
Seth Berkley, Stefan Catsicas, Gerald Chan, Alice Gast, S. Kris Gopalakrishnan Toni Hoover, Johan Rockström, Paul Stoffels

Honorary Life Governors: Karen Burke, John F. Niblack

Chair Emeriti: John Sexton, Torsten Wiesel, Nancy Zimpher