This site uses cookies.
Learn more.


This website uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the website to operate while others offer you a better browsing experience. You give us your permission to use cookies, by continuing to use our website after you have received the cookie notification. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to change your cookie settings, see our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

dividing cells; regenerative medicine


for Members

Frontiers in Regenerative Medicine: 2019 Innovators in Science Award Symposium

Friday, April 26, 2019

9:30AM to 6:00PM JST
Shonan iPark, 26-1, Muraoka-Higashi 2-chome, Fujisawa, Kanagawa 251-8555, JPN

Presented By

The New York Academy of Sciences

Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited


The Innovators in Science Award was established in 2016 as a partnership between the New York Academy of Sciences and Takeda Pharmaceuticals to recognize creative and impactful research being conducted around the world. This symposium will showcase the achievements of the 2019 Innovators in Science Award Winners in Regenerative Medicine and feature presentations from world leaders in stem cell research and clinical applications. During this event, Dr. Shinya Yamanaka, Nobel Laureate and Director of the Center for iPS Cell Research and Application at Kyoto University, will be the keynote speaker among a group of luminaries who will discuss advances in regenerative medicine and the growing impact of the field on human health.

Please join us at Shonan iPark in Kanagawa, Japan for a unique opportunity to engage with leading researchers, clinicians, and prominent industry stakeholders from around the world about the transformational research happening at the forefront of regenerative medicine today.

This event is free, but registration is required. Although on-site registration may be possible on the day of the event, pre-registration is highly encouraged due to space limitations. Registration will open in August 2018.

Award Program

The Innovators in Science Award recognizes a promising Early-Career Scientist and an outstanding Senior Scientist for their contributions to science in the therapeutic areas of Neuroscience, Gastroenterology, Regenerative Medicine, and Oncology. Each Award Winner receives a prize of US $200,000 intended to support their commitment to innovative research.

In 2019, academic, government, and non-profit institutions from around the globe, as well as the Award’s own distinguished Scientific Advisory Council, nominated candidates who are conducting groundbreaking research in the field of regenerative medicine. The 2019 Award Jury of international experts in regenerative medicine will convene in Fall 2018 at the New York Academy of Sciences in New York City to choose the Award Winners. Winners will be announced in January 2019 and Awards will be conferred at a formal ceremony on April 25, 2019, in Tokyo, Japan.



Seigo Izumo, MD, Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited
Kazuhiro Ogi, PhD, Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited
Andrew Plump, MD, PhD, Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited
Brooke Grindlinger, PhD, The New York Academy of Sciences
Adria Martig, PhD, The New York Academy of Sciences


April 26, 2019

9:30 AM

Registration & Breakfast

10:00 AM

Welcome Remarks & Introduction

Early-Career Scientist Award Winner Lecture

10:15 AM

2019 Early-Career Scientist Winner Lecture


Shruti Naik
New York University
11:00 AM

Networking Coffee Break

Senior Scientist Award Winner Lecture

11:15 AM

2019 Senior Scientist Winner Lecture


Michele De Luca
University of Modena and Reggio Emilia
12:00 PM

Networking Luncheon

Advances in Regenerative Medicine Research

1:15 PM

Distinguished Lecture


Austin Smith
University of Cambridge

Clinical Applications in Regenerative Medicine

2:00 PM

Distinguished Lecture


Masayo Takahashi
RIKEN Center for Biosystems Dynamics Research
2:45 PM

Distinguished Lecture


Hiromitsu Nakauchi
University of Tokyo & Stanford University
3:30 PM

Networking Coffee Break

3:45 PM

Moderated Panel Discussion


Award Winners and Distinguished Speakers

Keynote Lecture

4:25 PM

Keynote Lecture


Shinya Yamanaka
Kyoto University
5:10 PM

Closing Remarks

5:15 PM

Networking Reception

6:15 PM

Event Adjourns