Support The World's Smartest Network

Help the New York Academy of Sciences bring late-breaking scientific information about the COVID-19 pandemic to global audiences. Please make a tax-deductible gift today.

This site uses cookies.
Learn more.


This website uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the website to operate while others offer you a better browsing experience. You give us your permission to use cookies, by continuing to use our website after you have received the cookie notification. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to change your cookie settings, see our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

We encourage you to learn more about cookies on our site in our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

President's Council

Peter Agre, Nobel Laureate; Univ. Prof. and Director, Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Inst., Dept. Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, Bloomberg School of Public Health

Richard Axel, Nobel Laureate; University Professor, Columbia Univ.; Investigator, HHMI

David Baltimore, Nobel Laureate; President Emeritus, Caltech

Etienne-Emile Baulieu, Former President, French Academy of Sciences

Paul Berg, Nobel Laureate; Professor Emeritus, Dept. of Biochemistry, Stanford University

Len Blavatnik, Chairman, Access Industries, Inc.

Günter Blobel, Nobel Laureate; Director, Laboratory for Cell Biology, The Rockefeller University

Irina Bokova, Director General, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Sydney Brenner, Nobel Laureate; Distinguished Prof., Salk Inst.

Michael S. Brown, Nobel Laureate; Prof. of Molecular Genetics, Univ. of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Linda Buck, Nobel Laureate; Investigator for HHMI; Member of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Karen E. Burke, Dermatologist & Research Scientist; Honorary Life Governor, The New York Academy of Sciences

Thomas R. Cech, Nobel Laureate; Distinguished Prof., University of Colorado, Boulder

Martin Chalfie, Nobel Laureate; University Professor of Biological Sciences, Columbia University

Aaron J. Ciechanover, Nobel Laureate; Distinguished Research Professor, Tumor and Vascular Biology Research Center, Faculty of Medicine, Technion-Israel Inst. of Tech., Haifa, Israel

Kenneth L. Davis, President and CEO of the Mount Sinai Health System in New York City

Peter Doherty, Nobel Laureate; Researcher, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, Memphis, Tennessee; Univ. of Melbourne, Australia

Mikael Dolsten, President, Worldwide Research and Development; Senior Vice-President, Pfizer Inc

Jan Eliasson, Former Deputy Secretary-General to the United Nations

Edmond H. Fischer, Nobel Laureate; Professor Emeritus, Department of Biochemistry, University of Washington

Jerome I. Friedman, Nobel Laureate; Institute Professor & Professor of Physics, Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Joseph Goldstein, Nobel Laureate; Chairman, Molecular Genetics, Univ. of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

S. “Kris” Gopalakrishnan, Chairman, Axilor Ventures/Co-founder Infosys

Paul Greengard, Nobel Laureate; Prof. of Molecular & Cellular Neuroscience, The Rockefeller University

Glenda Greenwald, President, Aspen Brain Forum Foundation

William A. Haseltine, Chairman, Haseltine Global Health, LLC

Hon. Jerry MacArthur Hultin, Senior Presidential Fellow, New York University; President Emeritus, Polytechnic Institute of NYU; former Under Secretary of the Navy

Eric Kandel, Nobel Laureate; Prof., Physiology & Cell Biology, Columbia University

Kiyoshi Kurokawa, Former Science Advisor to the Prime Minister of Japan; Professor, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies (GRIPS)

Leon Lederman, Nobel Laureate; Pritzker Prof. of Science, Illinois Inst. of Tech.; Resident Scholar, Illinois Math & Science Academy

Gregory Lucier, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, NuVasive

Roderick MacKinnon, Nobel Laureate; John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Prof., The Rockefeller University; Investigator, HHMI

Richard Menschel, Senior Director, Goldman Sachs

Ronay Menschel, Chairman of the Board, Phipps Houses; Board of Overseers, Weill Cornell Medical College

Ferid Murad, Nobel Laureate; Director, IMM Center for Cell Signaling, The University of Texas at Houston

John F. Niblack, Former President, Pfizer Global Research & Development; Honorary Life Governor, The New York Academy of Sciences

Paul Nurse, Nobel Laureate; Former President, The Rockefeller University; Former President, The Royal Society, London; Chief Executive, The Francis Crick Institute

Yoshinori Ohsumi, Nobel Laureate; Professor, Institute of Innovative Research, Tokyo Institute of Technology (IIR)

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Nobel Laureate; President, the Royal Society

Richard Roberts, Nobel Laureate; Chief Scientific Officer, New England Biolabs

James E. Rothman, Nobel Laureate; Yale University School of Medicine, Fergus F. Wallace Professor of Cell Biology and Professor of Chemistry; Chairman, Department of Cell Biology; Director, Nanobiology Institute

Bengt Samuelsson, Nobel Laureate; Prof., Medical & Physiological Chem., Karolinska Inst.; Former Chairman, The Nobel Foundation

Ismail Serageldin, Librarian of Alexandria, Director of the Bibliotheca Alexandria, The Library of Alexandria, Egypt

Phillip A. Sharp, Nobel Laureate; Director, The McGovern Institute, MIT Center for Cancer Research

Feike Sijbesma, CEO/Chairman of the Managing Board, Royal DSM

Michael Sohlman, Former Executive Director, The Nobel Foundation

Paul Stoffels, Chief Scientific Officer, Johnson & Johnson; member of the Johnson & Johnson Executive Committee & Management Committee; Worldwide Co-Chairman, Pharmaceuticals Group

Jack W. Szostak, Nobel Laureate; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Professor of Genetics, Harvard Medical School; Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Harvard University; Alex A. Rich Distinguished Investigator, Department of Molecular Biology, Massachusetts General Hospital

Diana Taylor, Vice-Chair, Solera Capital LLC

Marc Tessier-Lavigne, President, Stanford University

Craig B. Thompson, President and CEO, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Shirley Tilghman, President Emerita/Professor of Molecular Biology, Princeton University

Frank Walsh, Chief Executive Officer, Ossianix, Inc.

George Whitesides, Woodford L. & Ann A. Flowers University Professor, Harvard University

Torsten N. Wiesel, Nobel Laureate; Chairman Emeritus, The New York Academy of Sciences; Former Secretary General, Human Frontier Science Program Organization; President Emeritus, The Rockefeller Univ.

Frank Wilczek, Nobel Laureate; Herman Feshbach Professor of Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, Secretary General, Human Frontier Science Program Organization; Former Secretary General, European Research Council; Former President, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, Germany

Andrew Witty, Chief Executive Officer, GlaxoSmithKline

Tan Sri Zakri Abdul Hamid, Science Adviser to the Prime Minister of Malaysia

Elias Zerhouni, President, Global Research & Development, Sanofi-aventis

Guangzhao Zhou, Former Chairman, Chinese Association of Science & Technology