Support The World's Smartest Network

Help the New York Academy of Sciences bring late-breaking scientific information about the COVID-19 pandemic to global audiences. Please make a tax-deductible gift today.

This site uses cookies.
Learn more.


This website uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the website to operate while others offer you a better browsing experience. You give us your permission to use cookies, by continuing to use our website after you have received the cookie notification. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to change your cookie settings, see our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

We encourage you to learn more about cookies on our site in our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

Academy Members Take The Prize—The Nobel Prize

Academy Members Take The Prize—The Nobel Prize

From its founding in 1817, Membership in the Academy has been democratic—open to anyone with an interest in science—rather than an honor bestowed on prominent researchers already acknowledged for their great achievements.

So it speaks to the high caliber of those that choose to be Academy Members that dozens of Nobel laureates have joined in the last century, and some 30 Nobel laureates serve today on our President’s Council.

Of course, the Academy attracted leaders and thinkers to its ranks long before the first Nobel Prize was awarded in 1901. Who is to say whether Charles Darwin or Alexander von Humboldt would have received a Nobel if it had existed in the 1800s? But the Academy and the Nobel Prize have linked from the very beginning.

Chemist Emil Fischer had been elected an Honorary Member of the Academy in 1901. The next year, in 1902, Fischer became the first of our Nobel laureate Members, when he was recognized for bringing chemistry to biology, and in particular, discovering the chemical structure of carbohydrates.

Geneticist Thomas Hunt Morgan, who joined the Academy in 1904, received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1933 for mapping genes onto chromosomes, using fruit flies as his model organism. Morgan was also on the faculty at Columbia University, and helped expand the Academy’s Biology Section.

Dozens more scientists with Academy Membership claimed this honor in the following decades. Nuclear physicist Hans Bethe, for example, was awarded a Nobel in 1967 for discovering how stars produce energy. Rosalyn Yalow, a medical physicist, received the 1977 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for developing the technique of radioimmunoassay.

Of the many Nobelists who have participated actively in Academy affairs, two deserve mention for their service as Chairman of the Board of Governors. In 1993 geneticist Joshua Lederberg took charge of this role. He was a 1958 laureate in Physiology or Medicine, for his discoveries concerning bacterial genetic recombination.

Later, from 2001 to 2006, neuroscientist Torsten Wiesel served as Chair, leading the Academy through difficult financial times and reaffirming its scientific mission. Wiesel received the Nobel Prize in 1981 for discovering how the visual system processes information.

The Academy is proud to be associated with so many original thinkers and scientific leaders. Below is a list of the Academy Members (current and past) who are Nobel Laureates:

  • Lord Edgar Adrian
  • Peter Agre
  • Richard Axel
  • Gertrude B. Elion
  • David Baltimore
  • Paul Berg
  • Hans A. Bethe
  • Elizabeth Blackburn
  • Günter Blobel
  • Niels Bohr
  • Sir William Henry Bragg
  • Sydney Brenner
  • Michael S. Brown
  • Linda Buck
  • Sir MacFarlane Burnet
  • Adolf Butenandt
  • Melvin Calvin
  • Thomas R. Cech
  • Ernst Boris Chain
  • Martin Chalfie
  • Aaron J. Ciechanover
  • Arthur H. Compton
  • Andre F. Cournand
  • Francis Crick
  • Sir Henry Dale
  • Tsung Dao Lee
  • Clinton J. Davisson
  • Louis V. de Broglie
  • Peter J.W. Debye
  • Paul A.M. Dirac
  • Peter Doherty
  • Sir John Carew Eccles
  • Manfred Eigen
  • Edmond H. Fischer
  • Emil Fischer
  • Paul J. Flory
  • Jerome I. Friedman

  • Joseph Goldstein
  • Frederick Gowland Hopkins
  • Paul Greengard
  • Carol Greider
  • Werner Heisenberg
  • Dudley Robert Herschbach
  • Corneille J.F. Heymans
  • Norman Cyril Hinshelwood
  • Bernardo A. Houssay
  • François Jacob
  • Eric Kandel
  • Peter Kapitza
  • Aaron Klug
  • Willis E. Lamb, Jr.
  • Karl Landsteiner
  • Irving Langmuir
  • Max Von Laue
  • Joshua Lederberg
  • Leon Lederman
  • Salvador Luria
  • André Lwoff
  • Roderick MacKinnon
  • Barbara McClintock
  • Peter Brian Medawar
  • Iliya Metchnikof
  • Henri Moissan
  • Thomas Hunt Morgan
  • Ferid Murad
  • Fridtjof Nansen
  • Guilio Natta
  • Louis Néel
  • Ronald G.W. Norrish
  • Sir Paul Nurse
  • Severo Ochoa
  • Yoshinori Ohsumi
  • Linus Pauling
  • Max Ferdinand Perutz

  • George Porter
  • Isidor Rabi
  • Venkatraman Ramakrishnan
  • Sir William Ramsay
  • Lord Rayleigh (John William Strutt)
  • Tadeus Reichstein
  • Sir Richard Roberts
  • Sir Robert Robinson
  • James E. Rothman
  • Sir Martin Ryle
  • Andrei D. Sakharov
  • Bengt Samuelsson
  • Nikolai N. Semenov
  • Phillip A. Sharp
  • Hans Spemann
  • Theodor Svedberg
  • Albert Szent-Györgyi
  • Jack W. Szostak
  • Igor Evgenievich Tamm
  • Hugo Theorell
  • Joseph John Thompson
  • Arne Tiselius
  • Lord Alexander Todd
  • Sin-Itiro Tomonaga
  • Charles H. Townes
  • Harold Varmus
  • J.H. Van Vleck
  • Ulf Svante von Euler
  • James D. Watson
  • Torsten N. Wiesel
  • Eugene Wigner
  • Frank Wilczek
  • George F.K. Wittig
  • Rosalyn Yalow
  • Hideki Yukawa
  • Ahmed Zewail