Support The World's Smartest Network

Help the New York Academy of Sciences bring late-breaking scientific information about the COVID-19 pandemic to global audiences. Please make a tax-deductible gift today.

This site uses cookies.
Learn more.


This website uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the website to operate while others offer you a better browsing experience. You give us your permission to use cookies, by continuing to use our website after you have received the cookie notification. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to change your cookie settings, see our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

We encourage you to learn more about cookies on our site in our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

Winners Announced for the Inaugural Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists in Israel

Three outstanding Israeli Scientists win the 2018 Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists in Israel.

Published December 08, 2017

For over a decade in the United States, the Blavatnik Awards have honored exceptional young scientists and engineers by highlighting their extraordinary achievements, recognizing their remarkable promise for future discoveries, and accelerating innovation in their research. Established in 2007, the Blavatnik Awards are a signature program of the Blavatnik Family Foundation that are administered by the New York Academy of Sciences. Awarded in Israel for the first time – in collaboration with the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities – three of the country’s most outstanding young scientists and engineers will receive $100,000 each, one of the largest unrestricted prizes ever created for early-career researchers in Israel.

From 47 nominees, encompassing Israel's most promising scientific researchers aged 42 years and younger and nominated by Israeli research universities, a distinguished national jury selected three outstanding laureates, one each from the disciplines of Life Sciences, Chemistry, and Physical Sciences & Engineering:

Dr. Oded Rechavi, Senior Lecturer, Department of Neurobiology, Tel Aviv University

Dr. Charles Diesendruck, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Schulich Faculty of Chemistry, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology

Prof. Anat Levin, Associate Professor, The Andrew & Erna Viterbi Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology

The inaugural Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists in Israel will be honored at a formal ceremony in Jerusalem on February 4, 2018. The Laureates will join a network of their peers as members of the Blavatnik Science Scholars community, currently comprising over 220 Blavatnik Award honorees from the decade-old U.S. program. Laureates will also be invited to attend the annual Blavatnik Science Symposium at the New York Academy of Sciences each summer, where the Scholars come together to exchange new ideas and build cross-disciplinary research collaborations. To learn more about this year’s Blavatnik Laureates and other honorees, please visit the Blavatnik website here and follow us on Twitter: @BlavatnikAwards.