Support The World's Smartest Network

Help the New York Academy of Sciences bring late-breaking scientific information about the COVID-19 pandemic to global audiences. Please make a tax-deductible gift today.

This site uses cookies.
Learn more.


This website uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the website to operate while others offer you a better browsing experience. You give us your permission to use cookies, by continuing to use our website after you have received the cookie notification. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to change your cookie settings, see our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

We encourage you to learn more about cookies on our site in our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

Academy Members Receive NIH Common Fund Grants

New Innovator and Transformative Research Projects awards support game-changing research.

Published December 07, 2011

The National Institutes of Health announced that it is awarding $143.8 million to support research that "is neither incremental nor conventional," according to James M. Anderson, director of the Division of Program Coordination, Planning and Strategic Initiatives, who guides the Common Fund's High-Risk Research program.

"The awards are intended to catalyze giant leaps forward for any area of biomedical research, allowing investigators to go in entirely new directions," with the goal of turning research into better health for the American public, says Anderson.

In 2011, the NIH awarded 13 Pioneer Awards, 49 New Innovator Awards, and 17 Transformative Research Projects Awards, all supported by the NIH Common Fund. A number of Academy members have been announced as winners of these prestigious awards.

Academy members Uttiya Basu, Columbia University; Aron M. Geurts, Medical College of Wisconsin; and Megan C. King, Yale University, received New Innovator Awards.

Academy members Thomas Hartung, Johns Hopkins University, Bloomberg School of Public Health; Thomas S. Kupper, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Dana Farber Brigham and Women's Cancer Center, and Harvard Medical School; F. Nina Papavasiliou, The Rockefeller University; and Margaret Elizabeth Ross, Weill Medical College of Cornell University, received Transformative Research Projects Awards.