Support The World's Smartest Network

Help the New York Academy of Sciences bring late-breaking scientific information about the COVID-19 pandemic to global audiences. Please make a tax-deductible gift today.

This site uses cookies.
Learn more.


This website uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the website to operate while others offer you a better browsing experience. You give us your permission to use cookies, by continuing to use our website after you have received the cookie notification. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to change your cookie settings, see our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

We encourage you to learn more about cookies on our site in our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

The Academy Congratulates Winners of the of the Nobel Prizes in Science, including Members of Our Community

Published October 05, 2022

The Academy adds its voice to the congratulations pouring in for three scientists who were announced Wednesday as winners of the 2022 Nobel Prize in Chemistry: Carolyn R. Bertozzi of Stanford University, Morten Meldal of the University of Copenhagen, and K. Barry Sharpless of Scripps Research.

In making its announcement, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences cited Dr. Sharpless and Dr. Meldal for their work developing click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry. Dr. Bertozzi was cited for her work in applying click chemistry to the study of biomolecules. Experts say work in click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry have many promising applications, including in the development of drugs, DNA sequencing, and material sciences.

Dr. K. Barry Sharpless and his wife, Jan Dueser, at the 2021 Blavatnik National Awards Ceremony in New York

The Academy values its relationships with key leaders in science, and is proud of its association with two of the awardees. Dr. Sharpless is a member of the Academy’s President’s Council as well as a member of the Scientific Advisory Council for the Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists. The Blavatnik Awards are administered by the Academy. Dr. Sharpless also was a keynote speaker at a 2014 Academy symposium titled Click Chemistry in Biology and Medicine.

Dr. Bertozzi was an organizer of the Academy’s click chemistry symposium and, just this year, Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences published a Keystone Symposia report featuring her work.

We also extend our congratulations to recipients this week’s other Nobel Prize winners. On Tuesday, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics to: Alain Aspect of the Université Paris-Saclay and École Polytechnique, in Palaiseau, France; John F. Clauser of J.F. Clauser & Associates in Walnut Creek, California, and Anton Zeilinger of the University of Vienna.

On Monday, the Swedish Academy awarded the 2022 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine to Svante Pääbo of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology. Dr. Pääbo has worked with the New York Academy of Sciences as a mentor in its Global STEM Alliance.