Support The World's Smartest Network

Help the New York Academy of Sciences bring late-breaking scientific information about the COVID-19 pandemic to global audiences. Please make a tax-deductible gift today.

This site uses cookies.
Learn more.


This website uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the website to operate while others offer you a better browsing experience. You give us your permission to use cookies, by continuing to use our website after you have received the cookie notification. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to change your cookie settings, see our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

We encourage you to learn more about cookies on our site in our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

Heads of Cornell, Syracuse and Mount Sinai Medical Center Among New NYAS Governors

Six sitting governors were re-elected.

Published September 19, 2008

NEW YORK, NY — The presidents of Cornell and Syracuse Universities, Mexico City's former foreign minister, and two top pharmaceutical industry executives are among the nine new members of the New York Academy of Sciences Board of Governors.

Other new governors installed during the Academy's 190th Annual Membership Meeting at the Academy's 7 World Trade Center headquarters include the president of the Mount Sinai Medical Center, two prominent businessmen, and a leading AIDS vaccine researcher.

The new governors are:

  • Seth Berkley, President, CEO, and Founder of the International AIDS Vaccine Initiative
  • Len Blavatnik, Founder and Chair of Access Industries, Inc.
  • Manuel Camacho Solis, Mexico City's Former Foreign Minister and now Director of Proyectos Ommega
  • Nancy Cantor, President and Chancellor of Syracuse University
  • Gerald Chan, Co-Founder of the Morningside Investment Group
  • Kenneth L. Davis, President and CEO of The Mount Sinai Medical Center
  • Toni Hoover, Senior Vice President and Director of the Groton/New London Laboratories, Pfizer Inc.
  • David J. Skorton, President of Cornell University
  • Paul Stoffels, Company Group Chairman, Global Research and Development, Johnson & Johnson

"We're thrilled to welcome this distinguished group of leaders in science, medicine, academia, business, and industry to our Board of Governors," said NYAS President Ellis Rubinstein. "They join an equally impressive collection of colleagues, all of them committed to helping guide the Academy in its ongoing renaissance and championing its exciting mission to support scientists and scientific discovery in New York City and beyond."

In addition to the newly elected governors, six sitting governors were reelected:

  • R. Brian Ferguson, Professor of Anthropology at Rutgers University, Newark, NJ
  • Maren E. Imhoff, Vice President for Development at The Rockefeller University, New York, NY
  • Madeleine Jacobs, Executive Director and CEO of the American Chemical Society, Washington, DC
  • Abraham M. Lackman, President of the Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities, New York, NY
  • Jeffrey D. Sachs, Director of The Earth Institute at Columbia University, New York, NY
  • Deborah E. Wiley, Senior Vice President of Corporate Communications for John Wiley & Sons, Hoboken, NJ

For further information, please see the Academy's Board of Governors page.

About the New York Academy of Sciences

Founded in 1817, the New York Academy of Sciences is an independent, nonprofit organization with more than 25,000 members in 140 countries committed to advancing science and building scientific communities.

Contact: Bill Silberg, 212-298-8646,