Support The World's Smartest Network

Help the New York Academy of Sciences bring late-breaking scientific information about the COVID-19 pandemic to global audiences. Please make a tax-deductible gift today.

This site uses cookies.
Learn more.


This website uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the website to operate while others offer you a better browsing experience. You give us your permission to use cookies, by continuing to use our website after you have received the cookie notification. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to change your cookie settings, see our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

We encourage you to learn more about cookies on our site in our Privacy policy and Terms of Use.

Board of Governors

as of January 5, 2024


Jerry Hultin, Chair and Co-Founder, Global Futures Group, LLC


Thomas Pompidou, Partner and Founder, Marker, LLC


Amber Miller, Dean of the University of Southern California Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences


Nicholas B. Dirks, President and Chief Executive Officer, The New York Academy of Sciences

Corporate Secretary

Tino van den Heuvel, The New York Academy of Sciences

Executive Associate to the Corporate Secretary

Catherine Sarquiz, The New York Academy of Sciences


Armen Avanessians, Former Head and Chief Investment Officer, Goldman Sachs Asset Management’s (GSAM) Quantitative Investment Strategies Group

Serg Bell, Founder and Chairman, Constructor Group, and Founder, Acronis

Natarajan Chandrasekaran, Chairman of the Board, Tata Sons

Jacqueline Corbelli, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, and Co-Founder, BrightLine

MaryEllen Elia, President, Success for Students, Inc.; former Partner and Senior Fellow, International Center for Leadership in Education; former Commissioner of Education and President of The University of the State of New York

Katherine B. Forrest, Partner at Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP

Thomas C. Franco, Partner, Clayton, Dubilier & Rice, LLC

Darío Gil, Senior Vice President and Director of IBM Research

Aida Habtezion, Chief Medical Officer and Head of Worldwide Medical & Safety, Pfizer Inc.

Reid Hoffman, Co-Founder LinkedIn, Partner, Greylock Partners

Seema Kumar, Chief Executive Officer, Cure.; former Global Head – Office of Innovation, Global Health and Scientific Engagement, Johnson & Johnson

Ravi Kumar S., Chief Executive Officer, Cognizant​

R. May Lee, Co-leader, Guild of Future Architects; Adjunct Professor of “Entrepreneurship and Architecture”, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; former Dean, School of Entrepreneurship and Management, ShanghaiTech University; and former Vice Chancellor, New York University

Pablo Legorreta, Chief Executive Officer and Founder, Royalty Pharma

David K.A. Mordecai, Co-Managing Member, Numerati Partners, LLC; RiskEcon® Lab for Decision Metrics @ Courant Institute for Mathematical Sciences, New York University; Visiting Scholar, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University; President and Co-Founder, Risk Economics, Inc.

Martin Nesbitt, Co-Chief Executive Officer, The Vistria Group, LLC

Lowell Robinson, Corporate Director and Advisor, Barnes & Noble Education

Laura Sachar, Managing Partner and Co-Founder, StarVest Partners

Konstantin Shakhnovich, Former Global Head, Citadel; former Partner and Global Head of Systematic Market-Making, Goldman Sachs

Subra Suresh, President, Global Learning Council; Former President of Carnegie Mellon University, and former Director of the US National Science Foundation

Chandrika Tandon, Globally recognized business leader, Grammy-nominated artist and humanitarian

Peter Thorén, Executive Vice President, Access Industries

Robert Tjian, Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology, University of California, Berkeley; Former President, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Grace Wang, 17th President of Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Faye Wattleton, Co-Founder and Director, EeroQ Quantum Hardware

Sanford I. Weill, Chairman Emeritus, Citigroup; Chief Executive Officer, Casa Rosa Ventures

Jeremy Wertheimer, Chief Executive Officer, Biological Engineering Ventures

George D. Yancopoulos, Co-Founder, President and Chief Scientific Officer, Regeneron

Michael Young, Nobel Laureate; Richard and Jeanne Fisher Professor and Vice President for Academic Affairs, The Rockefeller University

International Board of Governors

Seth F. Berkley, Chief Executive Officer, Gavi, The Vaccine Alliance

Gerald Chan, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder, Morningside Group

Alice P. Gast, Former President, Imperial College London, and Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering, Imperial College London

S. “Kris” Gopalakrishnan, Co-founder, Infosys; Chairman, Axilor Ventures

Toni Hoover, Director, Strategy Planning and Management, The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

Johan Rockström, Director, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research and Professor, Earth System Science, University of Potsdam

Paul Stoffels, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman, Galapagos NV; Former Chief Scientific Officer, Johnson & Johnson

President Emeritus

Ellis Rubinstein

Chairs Emeriti

Torsten N. Wiesel, Nobel Laureate; President Emeritus and Vincent and Brooke Astor Professor Emeritus, The Rockefeller University; former Secretary-General, Human Frontier Science Program Organization

John E. Sexton, Former President, New York University

Nancy Zimpher, Chancellor Emeritus, The State University of New York

Paul Horn, Executive Chair and Founding Partner, Venly; Distinguished Scientist in Residence, New York University; former Senior Vice Provost for Research, New York University; former Senior Vice President and Director of IBM Research

Honorary Life Governors

Karen E. Burke, Dermatologist, Research Scientist, and Clinical Professor, Department of Dermatology, Icahn School of Medicine, Mount Sinai Medical Center

Paul Horn, Executive Chair and Founding Partner, Venly; Distinguished Scientist in Residence, New York University; Chair Emeritus, The New York Academy of Sciences; former Senior Vice Provost for Research, New York University; former Senior Vice President and Director of IBM Research

John F. Niblack, former Vice Chair of the Board and President of Global Research and Development, Pfizer, Inc.